Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Pre-Op testing question/cardiolite stress test

I'm fairly new to this whole process and right now I'm finishing up my 6 month doctor supervised diet (last appt in Sept) and my bariatric surgeons are beginning to send me off for the pre-op testing. I have been scheduled for a pulmonary function test which is no biggie since I've done that before. They are also doing the labwork that day which is no big deal. My question is about the cardiolite stress test and echocardiogram they have ordered. I've googled them and know what they are, but I'd like to know from a patient's perspective what its like to go through them (don't hold back). I'm a little concerned about the camera they use for the stress test. The picture from my doctor's office website shows a machine that resembles a CT scan or MRI machine. I am claustrophobic and have pretty severe panic attacks (even had one 2 days ago going through an automated car wash!!) What should I expect?

Thanks,

Tina

I just had my echo stress test yesterday!

It was more like an ultrasound machine than anything else.

No tunnels to go into at all!!

At least the one I had done was.

Hope it helps calm your nerves!!

I worked in echo and stress testing for years and there are several types of tests. The echo is just an ultrasound like a baby ultrasound but of your heart. About 35 minutes. Gel's a little cold and the tech has to get up under your girls on the left side but that's it. There are several types of stress tests. You have a stress echo which is where they put you on the treadmill at a high elevation, you walk really fast and then they give you a little injection of bubble solution and follow that with the heart echo (ultrasound).

Then you have a regular stress test. That is treadmill with EKG stips on you and after you complete the treadmill, you lay on the bed to let your heart rate come back down and see what the EKG strips say.