Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Aspects of Blindness

Hi all, I'm just learning my way around, though I've been lurking for quite sometime, but I'd like to introduce myself, and hopefully, give anyone who wants to a chance to ask questions about blindness. There may be many of you who have never come in contact with blind people, and I hope you will feel free to ask any questions you'd like. Don't worry, nothing will offend me.

So let me tell you a little about myself.

I have been blind since birth. I am considered totally blind, though I do have light perception. I can also see shadows, though I couldn't tell you what shape the shadow takes. I am a switchboard operator by day, and a professional musician. I have performed quite a lot and have released an original CD, just to prove that I could.

I have a roommate who is visually impaired, meaning she can see things generally, but needs magnification to see details. We shop, clean and cook for ourselves.

I don't have a guide dog, though I have friends who do. I don't think I have the temperament for one.

I am pretty independent; in fact, I've been to England twice, alone.

So ask away, and who knows I may ask in return. I'm always doing that to my sighted friends!

Debbie

Hi serenity55, it's very admirable for you to open yourself up to questions. There was a lot about blindness that I didn't get until I met and became good friends with a blind man. That really helped put things into perspective.

I'm so sorry for asking this and feeling very stupid about doing so (although I'm probably not the only person to wonder), how do you use the internet and post on forum sites, and all that? Are there computer programs that read it to you? I am one of those people who have never been in contact with a blind person and I don't mean to seem ignorant in my question. And I agree with Wheetsin's post that it is very admirable for you to open yourself up to questions.