Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Anyone have or going to have surgery with Tijuana Bariatrics/Dr Garcia?

Hi all! I'm a newbie to this forum. I am scheduled to be sleeved Sept 2 by Dr Garcia, Tijuana Bariatrics. I'd love to hear about others' experience with him and his team. I live in south Florida and one of my concerns is the long flight home so soon after surgery. Any input would be much appreciated. Thank you!

I had surgery with Dr. Garcia in August of 2015, and booked through Tijuana Bariatrics. I had a very positive experience with him and the medical staff at CER, who were attentive and caring. I did not receive much follow-up care, but I also didn't seek it out since I'd already made prior arrangements with my endocrinologist for blood work and other necessities. Anything not covered in the binder of information they gave me I could ask about here, or find information on the websites for bariatric centers. Dr. Garcia also maintains a blog with some posts about how to eat. He is a sweet man, and I think he did an excellent job. I've had no complications, and met my goal. My only regret is that I didn't do the single incision procedure since it was just $1000 more. My skin isn't loose like I feared it would be, and it would be awesome to feel more confident in a bikini now that I've gotten to a weight where I actually want to wear one at the beach. The scars aren't hideous by any means, but I'm fair skinned, so they're still noticeable a year on.