Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Banded this morning 2/18- where's the pain? ;)

Hi again- thanks for all the advice! I am just so surprised. I can't believe my blessings. I went in for banding today- by myself because my wife had to work. I was so nervous- even updated my will last night. Can't believe how smooth everything went. My main concern was that this particular surgeon and practice is strong arming everyone to get the sleeve, which I believe is so that there is no long term patient follow-up like the band requires, and so they don't have to deal with your band idiosyncrasies. (Just my humble opinion, not trying to flame anyone but I guess I just did.)

In fact, I kept getting "haven't seen a band in a long time- wow" from nurses and staff as they came in to make the pre-op rounds. In any event, everyone was wonderful. Surgery was 1:15- turns out had a large hiatal hernia- no wonder I had been coughing every night for 3 years. Thus got 2 for 1 Tuesday special :) bates of Tuesday Tacos 2 for 1!

Woke up in recovery, sat in bed for 10 minutes, felt zero pain, got up went to the bathroom, felt zero pain. Got dressed and went home 20 minutes later. Have not slept, no pain meds, drinking fluids and doing the gas strips. Feel no gas pains. Feel no pain at all- keep waiting for the other shoe to drop.

Walked around the grocery store for an hour, did some shopping for the family, now just sitting up watching tv- no pain at all. In this was a blind study, I would totally think I was the placebo patient!

Thanks again for all the advice- looking forward to talking with you all more as I journey down this new path. If the pain comes, I'm ready and waiting- bring it on. Nothing good in life is ever easy- accept all the excess food I thoughtlessly ate over the past decades!

Congratulations! Hope everything keeps going as smoothly as it has for you so far. Gives me hope for my own surgery coming up soon.