Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

6 month wait

Hi. I was jus wondering if there is a way to skip the 6 month wait before surgery

Why would you want to? They are the guidelines your insurance company put in place. You can definitely self pay but if you want insurance coverage you need to do everything you need to do per their guidelines. It's an opportunity to learn about the surgery, what's required, etc. It'll go by fast. Don't rush the process...embrace it and take it one step at a time or self pay.

I doubt it. I freaked out a little bit, too, and I am just beginning. My first nutritionist appointment was last week, so I have at the very least 5.5 months left to go. But I try to put it in perspective: 6 months ago was March, and that does not feel like it was that long ago. The next six months should go by just as fast! Hang in there and you will breeze through the next 6 months!

Embrace the 6 months. Since I started the process I have found out that I have quite a few health issues. I was clueless.

When I went for my overnight sleep test I was hoping I had a little sleep apnea so I would have another comorbidity to help me through with the insurance requirements. Boy was I shocked at my number 55 and diagnosis of SEVERE SLEEP APNEA. My blood tests came back with borderline diabetic. I now really understand the importance of this surgery. It is a life changer and I am now educated as to why I must have it.

You will learn a lot about yourself. The six months is in place for a reason. Even though I am at 5 month 19 days (Who is counting) I would do it again. Take advantage of all of the medical professional that you will encounter. Ask questions!

My insurance company requires a six month medically supervised diet. I was able to get a "waiver" not a skip of this process only because I currently have a lap band and it is causing problems that are bad enough that the insurnace company reviewed my claim and approved surgery early.