Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Newbie here...Is it really worth it?

Well, the surgery is not for me..it's for my fiance. He's 28, 5'10 and about 375 lbs. I've been researching this for a while now and we finally went to an info session at the hospital tonight. We're interested in the lap band because it seems a lot safer but after researching and seeing some posts on here...I'm kind of discouraged. I've seen a lot of people say they've only lost like 40 lbs in a year. I've learned that it's an extremely slow process and for some people it doesn't even work.

At this point, I'm still going to encourage him to get it done because it's better than nothing! I was just thinking that there would definately be good results but now I'm finding that that's not always the case.

I would just hate for him to go through all this and end up not getting good results or any results at all...or having complications and having to remove the band. I know that (with my help), he will follow all the diet/excercise rules though.

I know I'm jumping to conclusions before we've even started anything but I just got really discouraged after lurking around here.. :phanvan

Well..he's got like a 30 page booklet to fill out and return to the dr before anything gets started so we'll see what happens I guess. I will try to be a little more optimistic about it. :)

As our journey begins, I'm sure I'll come around here often to chat and get advice..it seems like a really informative place.

Destiny

28, 5'10", 375 you may not be able to life insurance for him, he may not see 40 years old. But if he were to loose 40 pounds a year for 4 years then he would be 32, 5'10, 215 a good risk for insurance, live to 75 and be much happier along the way. You will need to consider that he may be a target of other womens desires, but I feel you will be able to handle that.

Best wishes on a long life of happyness for both of you.