Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What to bring to the hospital?

I finally got my surgary date (3/11/13). Waited so long for this and now I'm freaking out.

I never had to go to the hospital before and would like to know what to expect.

Maybe someone has some tips what to bring. How did you spend your days?

Hospitals are noisy and restless!!!!! Don't over pack, you won't be doing much but sleeping and walking. My list of must haves: chap stick, phone and charger (and iPad so I can play with you guys!!!), slippers or socks with grippy things on the bottom for walking, toothbrush and paste, hairbrush, MY OWN PILLOW!!!! (Hospital pillows suck and having a pillow to hug on the drive home rocks!!!). I wear comfy clothes that I can wear home as well, don't worry about pajamas, wear the hospital gown so your stuff doesn't get nasty!!!! I think that's all!!!! Maybe a book but I never end up reading em while I'm there!!!

Good luck!!

I work in a hospital (on the mother/baby unit) but I see people all the time bringing a huge well thought out bag of everything they think they'll need, and never use it. She's right about the hospital gown. And the hospital will have most everything you need. I'd bring your toiletries (they have some, but its the cheap hotel kind) and your phone and charger, and maybe a laptop or tablet.

all the above advice is spot on, less is more in this instance. I hardly used anything out of my bag. Wore the same clothes home i wore there, had my phone and charger, had my laptop but never got it out (and that is unbelievable) wore their gowns, i took some pj bottoms, but didn't use them.

the more you pack and take the more you have to bring home and put away. Seems crazy I know, but you just sleep, walk and sip and don't feel like doing much else. I hardly even turned the tv on.