Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Very very long-term side effects?

This is my first time posting an original thread, so please be gentle! I keep looking on the forums for a conversation discussing long-term issues with the sleeve. I'm not finding much beyond the first couple of years, which I kind of suspected since it's such a new procedure. I also tried looking for research articles discussing gastrectomy issues long term, but of course the only other reason they usually do a gastrectomy is for stomach cancer so those studies don't go beyond 5 years either since it is considered an accomplishment to make it 5 years in those cases.

To get to my point here, I have this fear about the surgery as it gets closer and more real. I initially was worried about the pain or something going wrong, but now my fear has shifted to something bigger. I just keep picturing myself as an old lady with young doctors around me telling me that I was butchered by some archaic procedure way back when. I feel like someday people will tell me that this was a mistake because of X, Y, or Z and that I'm going to be sick or die because I had my stomach removed before there was enough research to see the dangers. It's made me go a little crazy looking for those possible X/Y/Z reasons.

I don't mean to scare anyone else here, I guess I just want to hear what you all have heard from your doctors (I'm traveling out of state for my procedure so I haven't met my doctor yet and I feel a little silly calling the clinic to present my possibly irrational fear and ask for reassurance) or from your own research. Has anyone known (or known of) someone who had their stomach removed many years ago for other reasons? Are there reasons that this procedure may actually shorten our lives or put us at risk of other diseases/disorders?