Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

When Is Too Soon To Get Pregnant?

hi I am new to the post op world only had surgery a week ago! My main objective with having the surgery was go loose weight and get healthy so I can get pregnant. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for going on 5 years now with no luck! No fertility dr would treat me until I lost weight as being 278 lbs was, to them, clearly the reson I could conceive. I never ovulated before surgery even when taking ovulating drugs. While the the doctors all say that you need to wait a year to a year and 1/2 I have been reading that many pregnancies seem to be fine sooner than that. I am anxious to start trying 6 months out if safe as I want my grandmother to be be able to meet her great grandchild before she passes from her kidney disease. I can't help but feel like it would be selfish of me to try before the dr give the green light but I don't think she will make it that long. Any advice would help.

I don't know all the ins and outs of this topic as I am already done having children but my surgeon asked me if I was planning to have any more children and once I told him that we were done he went on to say that it would be fine if I wanted to have more but he would want me to wait at least a year before getting pregnant after surgery. We didn't go into the details of the reasons not to get pregnant earlier than that so I can't help there but this is what my Dr. told me......

My instructions from the surgeon say to avoid pregnancy for 18 months. He says that during the first 12 months, it can be very dangerous for you and the baby and may result in birth defects. I know this is not good news for you, but don't risk your life or that of your unborn children. It would be far more devastating to your grandmother if something were to happen to you or your baby.