Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Very New! Looking For Friendly Guidance And Advice

I am very new to the lap band procedure...I have an appointment scheduled on 9-4-12. I am excited but also apprehensive because while I have read success stories, I have also read some horror stories. So...any guidance you folks that have been through the process could give me, I would greatly appreciate :-)

Here are some questions I have...

1. Can the procedure be performed with just local anesthesia and IV sedation? I am very afraid of general anesthesia. I can't wait until I see the doctor to ask this and I can't find answers on the internet.)

2. Are there lifting restrictions post-op? I teach Special Ed. and do tons of lifting and positioning.

3. I love to eat - not as an emotional outlet but because I enjoy cooking, baking, going out to eat, and tasting food. I know I can handle the smaller portions post-op and that food types are limited but after the 6 week recovery, can I still go out to eat and eat whatever I want but just in limited portions? For example...can I go to Burger King and eat a couple bites of a Whopper to get the taste but not have any issues? Or will I have to eat pureed foods for a long long time? I crave certain tastes and don't want to live without that.

Those are the only questions I can think of off hand but I'm sure I'll have more as time goes on. And I know I'll eventually get the answers from my physician once I do see him but it's nice to hear feed back from people who have been through the process.

Thanks in advance for your feedback! :)