Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Well I did my sleep study last night and I now know I have severe sleep apnea. I just cant believe it. The news hit me hard and it still is. Honestly when I went in I wasnt prepared for the outcome because I was certain I didnt have any breathing problems. I have been crying for most of the day and Im feeling really down. I think I will research this some more and maybe I wont be so scared. I have a cpap sleep study again on the 26th. Im not looking forward to it I hate how uncomfortable I am with all those wires on and that goo in my hair but my tech was awesome. Anyone else who has sleep apnea?I could really use some support from someone who has gone or going through this. Thanks everyone

I have it. I have been using my Cpap machine for 5 years or so now. I used to fall asleep all the time. even while driving a few times. I now sleep more soundly and can go alot less sleep than I did in the past. I feel so restful and better now. I won't lie it sucks wearing a mask while you sleep but I have used it every night since I got my machine. When you stop breathing your pulse rises and the health detriments are horrible.The good news once you lose weight it usually goes away. One of the reasons I want to lose. It will also help you be a better canidate for the surgery. You had done whats called a split sleep study. When you go back they will put a mask on you and see which PSI works best to open your airway. You see when we are overweight the fat closes our airway while we sleep the machine stops this. I hope this helps you.