Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

62 having doing the sleeve on May 3rd.

Hello everyone thought I would join the group. I am 62 and dealing with the pre opt diet. There are moments that I find difficult because I am a musician and some of my work is in restaurants. Today I will be spending three hours playing a brunch gig watching people eat. I am sure I will find a way to deal with it, but I may not be easy. The good news is since the start of my pre-opt diet I have dropped more than five pounds and feel really good. I am excited and nervous by date is fast approaching. I know I am doing the right thing even at 62 years old . Thanks for your posts, good to hear what others in there sixties have to say.

Hello everyone thought I would join the group. I am 62 and dealing with the pre opt diet. There are moments that I find difficult because I am a musician and some of my work is in restaurants. Today I will be spending three hours playing a brunch gig watching people eat. I am sure I will find a way to deal with it, but I may not be easy. The good news is since the start of my pre-opt diet I have dropped more than five pounds and feel really good. I am excited and nervous by date is fast approaching. I know I am doing the right thing even at 62 years old . Thanks for your posts, good to hear what others in there sixties have to say.

Welcome. I had my surgery August 2015 and I was 62. It has been the best thing that I did for myself. Good luck with your journey.

I'm 70 -- was sleeved at age 68. Lost 100 pounds, maintaining now at 135.

You may find post-op, like I did, that others eating in front of me no longer bothers me at all. As you probably know, the sleeve surgery removes the fundus (the stretchy part of the stomach) where the hunger hormone, ghrelin, is produced. The removal of this part of your stomach / ghrelin will make a big difference in your autonomic responses to food smells and tastes.