Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Need a vet buddy in MO for a newly sleeved Nurse...Help

Hello,

I am a newly sleeved 34yo Nurse in MO surgery date of 2/11/2015. I am down 20lbs but am not sure I am doing everything I need to do to maximize my weight loss as I have not loss any weight since the first week of my surgery. In fact gained two pounds this week. I am not eating much as I mostly eat about 6 oz of chicken salad and 5 to 10 melba small bite size crackers per day. I drink about 48 oz of crystal light per day. I just started working out yesterday in the gym for 30 minutes. I am afraid of not being successfule after I took my family and myslf throught this procedure. Please help...not sure what to do now the procedure is done...

You are only a couple weeks out and you are eating crackers and chicken salad? That seems awfully early to me. But if it's on your plan and you are tolerating it well . . .

My guess is that the 2 lbs you went up is Water weight, normal fluctuation, or something like poop. I don't see how you can be gaining fat at this point. You have dropped a lot of weight since surgery, so don't stress about that. Follow your plan and don't pay as much attention to minor fluctuations, which are normal. It's also completely normal to stall between weeks 2 and 4 after surgery, so it sounds like you are right on track with that.

I do wonder how much Protein you are getting. Most chicken salad is very fatty and not so much actual chicken. Are you getting your minimum 60 grams of protein every day?

I was sleeved on 2/16 I'm down about 11lbs. Doctor has me on a 70gram Protein diet with 400-500 calories. I have been on a liquid diet since my surgery. Only aloud to intake 3-4oz of liquid at a time. And get to start my purred/mashed phase on Monday. I'm so excited for some real food. I have also been juicing a rainbow of vegetables. Hope that helps good luck to you