Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Newbie with a leak

Hi all! This is my first time posting but I've read your posts for weeks. On June 4th I had my VSG done. 2 weeks later I started having left shoulder pain. I had an upper GI that showed nothing. Week before last a chest xray showed Fluid around my left lung. A ct scan with contrast indicated there may be a leak. Another upper gi was done and a leak was found. I was placed on antibiotics and antifungal meds and was placed back on Clear Liquids. Thursday I had an endoscopy done and two small leaks were found. There was one staple between the two leaks. The Dr. placed a bear claw clip on each of the leaks and also burned them to promote healing. I was feeling much better Friday but now my shoulder pain has returned and I'm scared that the clips have failed. Anyone have a leak heal with the clips?

So sorry to hear that you're having troubles. I also had my surgery two weeks ago. Did your doctor tell you how the leak may have happened? Do you remember having a leak test before you were released from the hospital (contrasting liquid shown on X-ray)? I appreciate knowing the kind of symptoms to be aware of and wish you a speedy recovery.

So sorry you are experiencing this. I hope all gets sorted out soon. This is the part we don't hear about. I'm praying for a speedy recovery for you.

So sorry to hear that you're having troubles. I also had my surgery two weeks ago. Did your doctor tell you how the leak may have happened? Do you remember having a leak test before you were released from the hospital (contrasting liquid shown on X-ray)? I appreciate knowing the kind of symptoms to be aware of and wish you a speedy recovery.

My surgery was actually 6 weeks ago. I did have a leak test the day after my surgery and again 2 weeks later. They never saw a leak on either of those. As far as symptoms go I never had any except left shoulder pain and nausea.