Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Stopping birth control pill before surgery- tell me your experiences

the nurse practitioner at my OB office has advised me that both she and the OB want me to stop my Yaz prior to surgery. They had another patient last year who took BCP and had WLS and ended up with a pulmonary embolism post-op.

I am not worried about stopping it, I am more scared of a clot. I'm wondering how LONG it should be stopped to decrease my risk of PE? i'm a cardiac nurse and I have E.R. experience and have seen a few patients come in with a PE and it is very scary. I'm just seeking out other's experiences with stopping and how long, etc.

I see my surgeon next week for my final apt and then I still have about 2 months of nutrition to go before I have my paperwork submitted to insurance, so surgery likely in July. Also, my surgeon requires Lovenox injections post op for 2 wks also.

Obviously I will seek the advice of my surgeon but since I don't see him for a week i'm just more curious than anything to hear about how other docs handled this.

thanks!!

I had to stop at least a month before. I ended a pill pack a month and a half before surgery and just didn't start the next one.

I have a IUD my doc had no problems with it. They only thing is about 3 days after surgery I had a period, which I hand' had in a year. At my one month follow up I told him about it he said it because if hormones being released with fat. He reminded me to just keep walking a mile a day then in two weeks I have no restrictions to exercise.

Edited by Good Molly

I took the mini pill. I didn't take it very long, but if I remember correctly it is a progesterone only pill and it is the estrogen that causes problems. I did not have to stop using it at all. I have since had an IUD placed.

I had the implant put in a few days before my surgery. It feels strange in my arm but hasn't caused any issues. Will be nice bit to have to think about it for three years!!