Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What are some of your favorite foods and what types of foods can you handle? How have your taste become different? I am a personal chef and am curious about the kind of food I will enjoy after surgery. Right now I do enjoy eating healthy food, I am mainly a volume eater. One of my favorite meals in pork roast with a spicy rub then greek yogurt as a cooling agent. How do you handle spices?

My experience post surgery (4 weeks) is that it will be many months, maybe a year before you'll be enjoying anything like that. And if you do, it will be 2 tbsps...long term, I'm still waiting for some feedback from this forum about what to expect. Right now I tolerate fish (tilapia, whiting, tuna, crab, shrimp). My favorite food is Wendy's chili w/fat free cheese. I haven't found anything else that I love and I am very unhappy about that. I am praying for some suggestions and hoping that my tastes and tolerance (lots of nausea) will improve. All that being said, I am thankful I had the surgery and remain hopeful that I will regain my desire for and encounter great foods again!

I handle spicy foods wonderfully. One of my go-to foods is anything Mexican. I only got sick from spices once when I was in the soft food stage. I wasn't ready for it and I was violently ill for about 12 hours after. I waited a few months (probably about 4 months or so post op) and tried again, now it's fine.

Edited by pookybear

Awesome! I figured since pork loin is lean Protein eventually it will be okay (and soft if you take it out at the right temp). Im also glad to hear seafood works so well!