Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How sweaty, out of breath should I be.

So I have never been a big fan of working out (obviously) so I really just don't know if what I'm doing is enough. I am just beginning and wondering if what I am doing is enough. I have a magnetic resistance recumbant stationary bike - I do about 25-30 mins per day. I don't sweat, I am only slightly out of breath but I DO feel it in my legs and butt afterwards, maybe even the next morning.

Is this enough? any opinions or advice is welcome.

Find an online calculator that will estimate your Max heart rate for exercise. Of course, you're going to want to get a heart rate monitor for exercise so you can track your rate. You want to stay in that target zone for as you work out. When you're out of shape you'd be surprised how little you have to exert yourself to bring your heart rate up to that fat burning zone. The opposite is true if you're more in shape

1 minute ago, LadySin said:

Find an online calculator that will estimate your Max heart rate for exercise. Of course, you're going to want to get a heart rate monitor for exercise so you can track your rate. You want to stay in that target zone for as you work out. When you're out of shape you'd be surprised how little you have to exert yourself to bring your heart rate up to that fat burning zone. The opposite is true if you're more in shape

I never thought about a heart rate monitor - thank you!

Sweatiness is highly variable. I am a cyclist and runner, and I always sweat like I'm dying. But I have friends that finish a run or a ride looking fresh as a daisy and completely unmussed. I sorta hate those guys. :D