Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Two questions.......Being sleeves after Lapland.....Opinions on driving to soon

Thank you all for reading and helping. I have researched these topics but looking for some specific advice.

I had lapband 12 years ago and I am curious if anyone else has been sleeved after the band how different are the recoveries? I know different for everyone but in general I’d like to hear experiences.

Needing some advice on my job....I work as a nanny, he is a teenager so I’m really just a taxi driver. I am not telling my boss about this surgery, for personal reasons, but did tell her I’m having surgery. I literally drive him to and from school and can rest the rest of the day. I am having surgery on a Monday and staying over 1 night. I was hoping to be able to drive him on Thursday or Friday. Would I be crazy for doing this? I keep reading different things about some up and feeling good few days after and others not for weeks. I am 39 and other than obese I am in very good health and stay active as I have 3 of my own kids. Just wanting some opinions.

Thanks so much!!!

I was revised from the lapband to the duodenal switch a year ago. I think driving three days after surgery is a little too soon. I would wait at least a week. You might still be on painkillers and still feel rather sore.

Many people who have surgery have pain medicine afterwards. The pain medicine is generally narcotics. The doctor will not give you permission to drive until the narcotics wear off. In my case, I told them I didn't want any pain medicine after the operation. I really didn't need any. I experienced very little pain and most of the pain was gas pain which passed easily because I was constantly walking after surgery. As a result I could drive almost right after I left the hospital. But you will be extremely sore and it will take many days before you will feel like you really want to drive.

9 hours ago, aapb79Gmail.com said: