Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Newbie here..finally approved and scheduled for surgery on the 25th!

Hi Everyone,

I decided to be proactive and called my insurance (BCBS Federal) and found out that I was approved on Friday, so I called my doctor's office right away this morning and got everything scheduled. I still have appointments to do the EGD, blood work, meet with the nutritionist to get my liquid diet, and meet with the nurse and do the precertification at the hospital...but I'm scheduled for the 25th!

For those who may be wondering, I had to do 3 months with a nutritionist without gaining weight, get a psych evaluation (I passed, LOL), and provide a 2 year weight history before the insurance would approve me.

I just told my boss, who will keep the real reason I'll be on leave in confidence. I'm hoping to just need to take 2 weeks off.

Oh I'm so nervous and excited I can hardly stand myself right now, LOL.

Is there anyone else scheduled for surgery near when I am?

Also BCBS FEP approved within a day of submission, then quickly scheduled Jan. 20th. EGD tomorrow (yikes). I hope this is the last hoop. They always come back with something else they've decided I need to get.

My EGD is scheduled for tomorrow, too! Is yours the regular one done at the hospital, or one using a scope going into your nose at the doctor's office? They gave me a choice, and I chose the one that is just a procedure in the doctor's office. I never heard of it being done that way, but it sounds easier. (No sedation, supposed to take 5 mins, etc.)

They doctor's office emailed me a printout of the rest of my appointments. I assume that as long as the scope doesn't find anything and my blood work comes back normal, everything else is a go for the surgery. I hope so at least!