Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Im sooo disappointed and mad I could SCREAM!

I have been jumping through hoops for 8 months now. Doing everything I was told to do by my surgeon. He wanted me to lose weight and track everything that went into my mouth for three months as well as log any and every exercise I did. He told me that when I completed the three months come back to see him (which is a 5 hour drive and two hour ferry ride) and if I stuck to my end of his requests that he would give me a surgery date within one month of this visit..

So. I have been working my butt of going above and beyond his request and traveling 7 hours, only to find out that the bariatric program in BC (Canada) has changed. I no longer can have a date so soon as I am now on the BOTTOM of a long a** wait list.

It turns out that there are some surgeons who have a 3+ year wait list and to speed those up they are distributing patients to other surgeons who don't. I am really happy for those people to get in so soon, but sad and frustrated for myself.

I have been waiting for my appointment for so long so I could plan around my surgery and get my life organized, only to now have to drop everything and scramble should I get called. And who knows how long that will be. He couldn't even give me an estimate time wise.

On a side note. He did say that the new program is flawed. There are many patients who aren't putting in ANY effort to show they are ready to change their lifestyle for surgery, and thinks these people should have to stick to a program like he told me to. He said that I worked really hard and shouldn't be put to the bottom and he is going to see if there is a way to give me a date ASAP. I'm really hoping he can, but in the end he has rules to fallow as well...