Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Afraid to tell people I've been sleeved

If you don't want to tell anyone ... don't. I didn't :D

If you tell or you don't tell you are OK. There are about an equal number of people here on both sides I think. Some change their mind and switch to telling. Some tell just close friends and relatives.

Then there are characters like me who tell folks for fun just to watch them struggle. It's the mean little boy in me. :)

I don't plan to tell people either--only my mom and one of my dearest friends.

There are so many misconceptions about the surgery...ie. it's a lazy choice, an easy way out. I'm a school teacher in a small community and it would be big news for the gossip mills, believe me. I don't ever remember hearing about anyone in my community having the surgery, that's for sure.

But as to keeping it private, I predict I will have enough on my plate without having to deal with the expectations and judgements of acquaintances and co-workers.

I didn't tell anyone, either. People can be mean, intentionally and unintentionally. Do what is best for you. Good luck!

I felt the same at first. Now, I'm 6 months out, and I don't give an f... People can think what they want, the sleeve worked for me and I am proud of my results. The majority of people say hateful crap because their jealous and threatened by you. I've lost a few close friends over my sleeve, but obviously they weren't that great if I lost them so easily.

You may hesitate now, but give yourself time to get use to it

I've lost a few close friends over my sleeve, but obviously they weren't that great if I lost them so easily.

I should be shocked by this, but sadly, I'm not. I have a friend who would never be able to accept the idea of the surgery. She views all medical problems as spiritual ones--even cancer!-- so because I really care about her, I'll just do my level best to keep it private from her.