Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Just Started Pre-Op Diet... Kinda Scared, Lots Of Questions.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to VSG talk and I'm grateful for forums such as these to help people along in the process...

I just started my pre-op diet 2 days ago and I'm scheduled for a VSG in Tijuana, Mexico on Nov 9th. I currently weigh about 440 lbs and the surgeon and my care coordinator told me I can have 2 or 3 Atkins Protein shakes a day and a salad with Protein (chicken, fish, egg, etc.) with lowfat dressing, olive oil and vinegar or fat free dressing. They want me to do this for 3 weeks prior to surgery and it hasn't been easy at all.

I'm not allowed to have caffeine either, which is driving me effing crazy! I've had a headache and lots of fatigue for a couple days, I have a hard time concentrating and I keep worrying that I'll never get to enjoy food again. Last night I cheated a little bit and had a spoonful of Peanut Butter, I hope it doesn't negatively affect my results.

I use to be a smoker "years ago" and for the first time in a very long time I'm craving cigarettes, but I know better. I wonder if the occasional piece of nicorette gum would negatively affect my pre-op diet? I was also prescribed some pain meds "vicodin" for a knee injury and pain, but now I'm afraid to take them because I'm not sure if they'll affect my liver prior to the surgery.

Are there any post op VSG patients out there who can comment on their progress, what it's like to eat after the procedure, if they eventually get to eat things like pizza or chinese food again, whether or not they had fears about not being able to eat normal foods again, etc?

Thanks,

Bryan :wacko:

I am just beginning the process of scheduling a surgery date so I'm afraid I can't answer your questions, BUT I want to tell you congrats on your first steps to a new and healthier you! I am hoping to get my surgery in Dec., also in TJ.