Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What do I tell people?

I've been off work for a few weeks. I'm a teacher and my child attends the school where I teach. Everyone knows Ive been "very" ill. They know that I had surgery. What do I tell them when they ask me what type of surgery I had? Ive tried the " major abdominal surgery" excuse, but I think I need something better..more specific.

What should I say?

Hmmmm.....how about appendectomy, or gall bladder out, or lysis of adhesions, or a bowel obstruction. All abdominal surgeries that I see at work all the time. Hope this helps!

You can always say it was personal and you would rather not talk about it. Say and do whatever you need to take care of yourself and be happy.

I can so relate!! I would look the person in the eye and say it was a personal woman thing, and all is well thank you. I have said this probably close to 50 times now and not once has anyone questioned me further. My weight is personal and keeping it private tends to be a woman thing and I am a woman..so what I reply is the honest truth!!

The next thing is you need to be prepared when people notice you not eating or eating as much, if its a pot luck, a shower, eating at a resturant what ever, its seems they always ask... and I just say I am having a little stomach issue right now and dont want to press my luck by eating more.

So remember....."its a personal woman thing and all is well thank you"

So remember....."its a personal woman thing and all is well thank you"

You're a genius. This made me laugh. It is funny that people think it is okay to ask personal questions these days. I also thought the stomach thing and not pushing it was also very good. I'm a teacher and had my surgery in the summer so many didn't see me in my early days. I didn't tell others. I eat with two others and they haven't said anything about my 6 shrimp and 1/2 c. cottage cheese.