Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How did your kids handle the change(s) in you?

My son is 11. He is a very sensitve boy...he doesn't want me to lose weight cause I won't be as comfortable to lay on. There have been times when it has upset him to see me happy and having fun... (I have always said that my misery is my scarlet letter...) I am hoping he will be able to adapt without me sending him to therapy. As much as I figure I will struggle recognizing myself, I wonder if it will happen to him too.

How did your kids react thru the whole process?

My kids have been just fine. I have a 14 year old son and my daugthers are 8 and 6. My son hasn't had any negative reactions at all. My youngest was confussed at first because she really thought I would come home from the hospital thin. She didn't understand it would take time! LOL The weight loss does happen at a gradual pace, so they will adjust. They will be happy to have a more involved you. I am a teacher and so I have off with my kids for the summer. We have done something active everyday. They love it! I think if you have a positive attitute, they will too.

My kids are all older; 18, 21 and 23 so I didn't have those issues. They've watched me struggle over the years with weight but nothing like my most recent 287 (the morning of surgery). They want me to be around for a long long time, so they were all supportive of me going under the knife. My youngest sons only concern was my going to Mexico with a friend (both of us female) and so he came along to be the body guard chaperone LOL He wasn't needed for that, but I was really glad he was there!