Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

My Weird Food

So I have this rule I make myself follow. Each time I go to the grocery store I have to try some new produce item that I have never tried before. Red or green cauliflower, Yucca root (that was gross, and it is quite literally poisonous unless you cook it), chayote (GREAT STUFF!), Tomatillos...

Well, today my new find is Lychees, English Cucumbers, and a red Tamarillo.

I can figure out what to do with the English Cucs, but what the heck does one do with Lychees and Red Tamarillos? The Lychees look like cool, so ugly they dare you to eat them. ;o)

Suggestions?

I tried weird bananas once, I had no idea there were so many kinds. That was not a winner. The Yucca root was certainly NOT a winner, but most things I have tried I like.

I keep buying eggplant but before I figure out what to do with it, it rots.

I think that you just peel the lychees and eat them like grapes?

That's what the produce lady said. They are weird looking little buggars.

I forgot, I also got some weird peaches. They look like someone smooshed them, they are short and kinda flat. I tried one and they are pretty good.

So I have this rule I make myself follow. Each time I go to the grocery store I have to try some new produce item that I have never tried before. Red or green cauliflower, Yucca root (that was gross, and it is quite literally poisonous unless you cook it), chayote (GREAT STUFF!), Tomatillos...

I can figure out what to do with the English Cucs, but what the heck does one do with Lychees and Red Tamarillos? The Lychees look like cool, so ugly they dare you to eat them. ;o)

Suggestions?

I tried weird bananas once, I had no idea there were so many kinds. That was not a winner. The Yucca root was certainly NOT a winner, but most things I have tried I like.