Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Pre-op diet/post-op diet

I'm scheduled for July 25th for my gastric sleeve. Is anyone else scheduled for the 25th and/or near there?

My question(s) tonight is-- for those who have already had the surgery done and/or are one the clear diet, what did you consume? My surgeon requires being on a 48 hr clear diet before surgery. I know I could have Jello, chicken broth, cranberry/apple juice, basically anything clear. Does anyone have suggestions of other things I can consume?

What I really need suggestions for is my post-op diet. What are the best things to consume post-op that are filled with Protein? How long was it until you could even try a solid? I know everyone is different, and responds differently to foods, but I'd love to hear from others. I met with the nutritionist, but she didn't go over much regarding post-op other than I should be taking sips of Water every 15 minutes.

Thank you in advance!

-Laura

P.S. I'm new to this site, and I'm still learning to use this app. This may sound like a silly question, but how do I check my private messages? Someone messaged me last night, and now I can't find it to respond lol.

Sent from my SM-N910P using the BariatricPal App

My surgeon requires being on a 48 hr clear diet before surgery. I know I could have Jello, chicken broth, cranberry/apple juice, basically anything clear. Does anyone have suggestions of other things I can consume?

Tea, beef broth, miso broth, G2, Vitamin Water Zero, Propel Zero. You can get Protein powders that mix well with water -- Unjury chicken Soup, Syntrax Nectar fruit or tea flavors. You can buy individual size packets of those, which would probably make sense if you don't have an extended Clear Liquids diet post-op.

What I really need suggestions for is my post-op diet. What are the best things to consume post-op that are filled with Protein?

On full liquid phase: Protein Shakes