Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

just checked my insurance policy!

As far as I can see there is NOTHING about doing a diet first! I thought I'd have to do the 6 months thing, but it looks like not!!! Just have a BMI of 40 (I do) and use an in network surgeon and hospital (I will).

I thought this was something that would happen 6 months from now. But it could be much sooner!!! I'm going to go to the information session this week and find out more.

Now, a big question is, if I get bypass, how weird/out of it will I be for a while? I'm an author, and just signed a book deal. I have deadlines coming up, will I still be able to write? How long should I plan on being out of it, not up to speed, etc? I want to be realistic. I have two big deadlines in April, then after that the next in in August. I'm not worried about that one as much, I'll only be working on one project then, whereas I have to turn in the first three chapters of book 3 and the synopsis for it in mid April, and then turn in the completed manuscript for book 2 at the end of April. I've never worked on two books at once before, so this is going to be kind of hard, I think. Im wondering if the best plan is to schedule surgery for May? That gives me time to finish my first two deadlines, then time to recurperate before I have another.

My husband has a lot of deadlines in April too, so he won't have as much time to take care of the kids until after that.

As I'm typing, I'm realizing that's the best plan. But I don't want to wait :)

We will have some more money then too, I think, from my advances.

I felt normal after about a month. (I got the sleeve however, so the bypass could be longer) Personally, I think it's great to keep busy with your book deadlines. It will keep the head hunger at bay.