Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Which Weight Loss Surgery Is Right For Me?

So, I'm new to this website and am really just looking for advice and support on this start of my potential bariatric journey. A couple months back, I never would have thought about having WLS, even after a nutritionist and doctor both brought it up. Now, I have multiple comorbidities that just recently piled on and am thinking WLS may be a good way for me to jump start my weight loss journey.

I have Tricare (TriWest) and I'm very curious as to how that whole process goes. I have an appointment with my PCP today to start this discussion and am kind of nervous about what she might have to say. I wouldn't be able to have the surgery until the summer since I am a full time student so I have time to do any sort of nutrition counseling that they may want me to do. I'm just very nervous and looking for some guidance.

I'm also not sure about which surgery is right for me. I know with Tricare, they only cover a certain number of surgeries and I am very interested in RNY or Lap Band. Right now, I'm leaning toward RNY but I'm worried because of how invasive it is as well as the fact that we had a family friend have terrible complications with it. What opinions do you guys have?

Thanks so much!

Hi Paigeh93 and welcome to the group. I have Tricare (south) so we basically have the same insurance. I chose three months from my first appointment with my surgeon to my surgery date to complete the insurance requirements to have RNY. That's because of the three months of doctor supervised weight loss requirement we have. It took three months and two weeks and I was under the knife. If you haven't already gone to your Humana Tricare site and looked up the requirements for weight loss surgery you need to do so. For me the process was very easy. All the paperwork was collected and then submitted to Tricare by my surgeon's staff.