Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Early Stages - confused about a couple of things

Hi all

I have been researching the Lap-Band surgery for over two years now. I'm the type of person who needs to have all of the facts before I make any decisions especially something as long term as this. I've been struggling with my weight since I was a young child.Two years ago I was finally diagnosed with insulin resistance and PCOS after visiting numerous doctors and explaining the symptoms over and over again and after doing numerous diets, prescribed diet pills, low carb this and low carb that but nothing has stuck. I dont eat much(maybe twice a day) but when I do I tend to lean on high carb / high sugary foods.

My primary reason for going through this process is because of my health.Everyone on my mother's side of the family has had diabetes, strokes, high blood pressure. I am seeing those symptoms in myself with the Insulin resistance that could easily lead to Type 2 Diabetes and at 27 I dont want to wake up one day and regret not living my life to my full potential due to my selfish stubborn ways.

I am going for my 2nd follow up with my bariatric doctor in December . I have done the nutrition class and my psych eval is in December as well .. so I am taking the steps towards surgery.

After reading the forums on this website for over two months now, I see that a lot of people are struggling with the aftermath of surgery.

What I would like to find out from some of you that HAVE gone through the surgery is how do you get over the intial shock to your body? I imagine that for me it will be as if Im withdrawing from a drug ( carbs) so Im ready mentally but physically dont know how I'll take it.

Hi Ivona. First of all, congratulations for making this decision. You sound like a wise woman for someone still so young.