Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Sleeved 2017, Bypass 2023.. I'm actually terrified this time..

I'm flying to Turkey next month to have my revisional surgery from sleeve to Gastric Bypass. However, I'm actually terrified. Like, I'm just so scared. Funnily enough, my heart nor my gut is telling me anything out of the ordinary. It's almost like I want to be scared? With my sleeve, I was so ready to go. Not a fear in my bones. But this time, I'm afraid and reading things on mortality rates and everything. It's just so unlike me as I already know the risks involved.

Perhaps this is happening because it's my first time having surgery abroad, but I think it's also because my labs. My blood work came back lower than they would have liked, and told me to wait until February to have my surgery. My surgeon assured me that if my Iron is still low, they will give me an iron injection prior to the surgery.

Okay, cool! That was until I started googling and read that iron infusions are best 2-3 weeks before surgery and that having it right before surgery will do nothing! So that places me in a place of doubt.

Before anyone asks, I'm having the surgery abroad because it's far too expensive to have it done here, and to have it covered by insurance will take a lifetime and even then, it's not guaranteed since my sleeve was so successful (the words of my surgeon here in my country).

Those of you who had surgery abroad, specifically Turkey, can you lend some reassurance? What about those of you who had lower iron levels prior to surgery? I'm just looking for words of encouragement here.. Even typing this out, I feel kinda silly. Lol. 😅 Maybe that was all I needed; to just let it out.