Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How soon before you went back to work after surgery?

I am having surgery on Thursday, 10/11/07. I am anticipating going back to work on Tuesday (after my husband's surgery on Monday, 10/15). I work at a desk but have the flexibility to get up and move around, if needed. Is this a reasonable amount of time to give myself?

I will worry about work getting done if I take off longer so I really want to minimize the amount of time I am gone.

:)

I'm a floor nurse and I'm getting banded Oct. 5th. My doc says 2 weeks because there is no light duty for nurses on my floor. I have to lift people and do a lot of running around. thank goodness my manager just had bypass 2 months ago - she said take as long as I need. Beth

I am a kindergarten teacher. My surgery is the 11th and I will return to work on Monday the 15th. My doc said that will be just fine. He told me he had a patient go back to work the same day as surgery...that is just nuts to me, that patient must have been self-employed!

I had my surgery in Mexico on the 25th of Sept .. I am now 4 days post op and feeling better- -- I believe I probably could have gotten by at work if need be but am very happy for the extra days -- For me anything before 4 days would have been too much -

I'm having surgery on oct 3rd a wednesday and I plan on going back to work on friday-- I work in a call center so I only answer calls and I can stand or sit hopefully I wont be too bad.

I had my surgery on a Friday and I took Monday off and returned back to work on Tuesday. I could have gone back to work on Monday, but I took it off just in case. I think it will depend on what type of work you do. If you do any bending or lifting I think you will need more time.

<p>