Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

New to here, questions, my journey!

Hello wonderful people I am new to this subscribing feed or to the forum practice in general! I found this app as I have started my bariatric surgery process. I am currently waiting for insurance approval and then I will meet with the dr. at Suncoast bariatrics here in Florida to go over everything and plan my surgery date. When I first went there after year or so of research I swore that I wanted the lap band but after seeing this forum and many issues with the lap band including sleeve revisions I have started doubting myself. Is there anybody who is had good luck with the lap band or bad luck with the lap band and ended up getting the sleeve. I'm 26 years old and 300 pounds I have tried losing weight since I had my daughter eight years ago (where I gained 120 pounds) and have been unable to keep the weight off once I do lose some... I only want to have surgery once so I am very nervous and concerned and hope people have advice or information to share. Thanks so much!

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App

Never had experience with the lapband, but not many docs here in Southern California are not even doing them any longer due to the complication rate. I am not trying to discourage you, you need to get what you feel and your surgeon feels works best, but that has been the experience here. I know my surgeon no longer does them. I will be 7 months from the sleeve this week, and down 84 lbs and very grateful for it, good luck all the best whatever you decide.

My surgeon wouldn't do a lap band on me (not that I wanted one, but it came up at our initial consult). He's seen too many complications and too many people who never reach their goal weight and/or end up needing a second weight loss surgery. Now he only performs them on people with a BMI under 40 and only if people are absolutely adamant that they will not consider any other surgery.