Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

leak and dr wants to remove my stomach

I have not read anywhere about loosing your stomach with a leak. Has anyone had that experience? I have a abscess on my spleen and it is right beside the leak so they are "communicating" and therefore there is no improvement in my case. Cannot find any info on the net about fixing a leak that way.

I would get a second opinion about that for sure. Best wishes for you that the leak starts healing for you.

Can they remove the spleen and fix the leak? Removing the entire stomach is not what I have heard to be common practice.

I've heard of people removing their entire stomachs when they have stomach cancer. I've never heard of it due to a leak. If a doctor recommended that, I would go with his recommendations over mine. I would probably go for a second opinion though, depending on the time avail for that etc etc. Good luck, it's possible so don't freak out.

Please quickly get a second opinion! Prayers going up now for you!

Yes, I have heard of it done in extreme cases. I would definitely get a second opinion from an excellent bariatric surgeon before going forward, assuming it isn't an emergency situation.