Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What made you chose RNY rather than sleeve?

I am now and ex bandit after 11 years of complications and terrible nutrition.

I was only considering the sleeve but am not heading towards the bypass.

I think I need more than just the restriction especially long term.

I have really no idea what my eating habits are - i have been dieting then banded for the past 30 years.

Rani

I spent three months preparing for the sleeve. After surgery was scheduled I changed my mind for several reasons

1. I have bad acid reflux and sleeve can make worse

2. Only short term data on sleeve

3. Bypass is gold standard for WLS

4. I felt I needed more than just the restriction

5. I never could get comfortable with part of my stomach being trashed.

6. I prayed about it and feel God lead me to get RNY vs sleeve

Those are just some of my reasons but ultimately it's up to you. Talk with your doctor and do what's best for you personally.

I'm a band to bypass revision as well scheduled for March 21. I felt like restriction only hasn't worked for me. I've taken off 70 pounds and kept off 50 in five years. Plus, I have bad reflux from my band issues and the sleeve makes that worse. One thing that had been nice is having my band completely unfilled for the last month to see what my eating habits really are. I gained five pounds because I had been so long without bring able to eat real food. Now I've been low carbing and upping Protein in prep for surgery and the five pounds came right off.