Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Weight training vs Cardio

I currently lift and train hard 2x a week @ cross fit with PT (T, Th) which leaves me a little sore the following day for when I do cardio @ home.

My cardio is currently M, W, F and S and consists of running for 30 min to 1 hour depending on routine (5k, 10k , HIIT). I am starting to wonder if I should back off on the cardio some and add more strength training days. My goal is to find a good healthy balance of weight lifting and cardio to remain fit with a nice athletic build.

I do not want all the cardio from running to eat away at my muscle gains. Before I started to lift, running really leaned out my upper body, essentially eating a lot of my lean muscle. I was at goal, but hardly had any muscle in biceps, triceps, deltoids, lats and so on.

Weight loss is done and I have been lifting consistently for 2 months in order to reshape body. It is working!! Long term lean muscle is going to help me keep at goal and give some flexibility with eating plan. I have put on 10 lb of lean muscle since starting cross fit training.

I am thinking about replacing some cardio day with an @home strength training DVD like Bob Harper inside out or Jillian Michael ripped. Eventually I will increase cross fit days in a month or two, once I transition into open gym format instead of PT sessions.

What are your thoughts about weight lifting versus cardio based on my thoughts above?