Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

My job is making me fat

So I know I've made bad food choices and that is the primary reason for my weight problems. However I've always felt that my sedentary job has been a big contributor. I watched rock center yesterday, they had a report on how bad sitting all day is. I've seen similar reports on various shows, and I agree. I really hate it, I feel like I belong In the movie Wally.

The good news is that I'm in my last year of school, so hopefully I'll be able to leave this crummy job and switch fields. On the show they made a recommendation of getting up at least 10 minutes of every hour. So I'm going to start working on that. Because we all know its the little steps that we make that make a big difference...

Well....I dunno...

I work a desk job all day and when I'm not at my desk I often have drive for hours and hours at a time to get to a remote location to work.

I am also a doctoral student and am in class from 4-9:30 every Tuesday night and from 9-4 every other Saturday. Then I have to read 4-6 books per class. I'll be doing that for two more years.

It had never occurred to me to think my job or continuing my education were making me fat. That may not exactly be what you are talking about in your post. But the choices that we make or don't make result in an outcome. Sometimes there are things that make choices more difficult, but planning and desire certainly help.

Here is the link to the article. Literally sitting all day does contribute to obesity. Of course it is not the only factor.

http://rockcenter.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/01/09/16431050-obesity-expert-says-daily-workouts-cant-undo-damage-done-from-sitting-all-day?lite