Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Can you help me make sense of my Pre-Op Diet??

So I'm new here, and I'm less than two weeks away from my surgery, which is on the 18th. I'm getting Sleeved at Hospital Angeles in Tijuana. The pre-op diet they sent me seems kind of contradictory and I just want to know WHY these pre-op diets have to be liquids in particular. I've been low-carbing for a few months now and I've lost about 25lbs. I have a private WLS counselor who has had me eliminate almost all carbs from my diet. Here's the diet the hospital sent me:

1. There are *NO CALORIE* LIMITATIONS on the LIVER-SHRINKING diet. You may eat/drink as much as you wish of the allowed things to feel satisfied, although we suggest reasonable limits to assist your weight loss.

2. No solid foods at all for the period of time when you are on the liver-shrinking diet.

3. A maximum of 40-50 grams of carbohydrates (carbs) a day.

4. You may have as many high-protein/low carb Protein Drinks a day as you wish. No limit!

5. You may add low-carb Protein Bars up to the max of 40-50 grams of carbs a day.

6. You may have any type, brand, and quantity of Protein drinks and protein bars that you wish, as long as you read the labels carefully so you are getting a MAX of 40-50 grams of NET carbs a day.

7. Count only the *NET CARBS* that are on the label, not the “total” carbs. Please eat and drink NOTHING that is not clearly labeled as to net carb content. With some products, the “Net Carbs” are called “Impact Carbs” or “Effective Carbs”.

8. You may have as much Water, Crystal Light, herbal or regular teas, or coffee as you wish – but please remember, NO sugar, and NO milk/creamer with high carbs. You must count any carbs here in your daily total of 40-50 grams maximum.