Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Considering Revision-?s on Weight loss Resistance

Hello everyone. I have been lurking for a while but this is my first time posting. Sorry kinda lengthy!!

I have a question and wanted to see if anyone could give my any insight. To give you a little bit of history-I was banded 2 years ago. I initially lost about 55 lbs. over the first 4-5 months. I then got an adjustment that resulted in me being too tight, learning to drink with my food just to get it to go down, then drinking all my food down. I maintained my weight loss for several months, but eventually over the last year have gained back about 30 of the 55 lbs.

After researching VSG, I am very impressed with both how happy people are with their sleeves and the amount of weight that is being lost.

My main question is this, over the last 5-6 weeks I have been trying to lose the weight that I had gained back on my own. I have been eating the band/sleeve/low carb way, with mainly Protein and occasionally some vegetables with one of my meals. I have eaten between 900 and 1200 calories and exercise on the elliptical for approx 50 mins 3-5 times per week. I lost 10 lbs in the first week and a half and nothing since. I am worried that through all the years of yo-yo dieting and then the band that I have made myself weight loss resistant!

Has anyone had extreme trouble losing weight on their own or with a band and then had success with the sleeve. I don't want to go through the risks etc of another surgery just to fail again?!?!?

I can't help you with your questions, but wanted to welcome you to VST and wish you luck on your journey! I don't know if you've checked out the revisions forum, but we have quite a few people that had difficulty with the band and have found success with the sleeve.

Thanks DeeDee. I will post my question over there.

As I have been reading/researching over the last few weeks, your weight loss has been such an inspiration!