Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Why is there NOT "Sleeve" commericals like the "Bands"

Newbie Here so please take my obversations as more of a query.. I really love my new sleeve family and I am scheduled for surgery in March. After months, month and months of research (with the help of this forum), I am just curious as to why there are not commericals or informationals about the Sleeve to help more people.:confused1:

This journey appears to be a "God send" for alot of us and I am just sooo thankful I found out about the sleeve by through word of mouth. Anyone curious as to why the Sleeve has not recieved more public advertising.. similiar to the Realize Band?

No pun intended to my Band family, just curious and trying to understand why more people are really not aware of Sleeve.. :blushing:

There is no company (Allergan or Realize) to manufacture a product for the sleeve. There aren't commercials for the RNY or DS procedure either.

The makers of the bands have to advertise to get people into the surgeons. With the VSG, DS, RNY, it's just a surgical procedure, no product going home with you.

There aren't as many VSG surgeons as there are band surgeons therefore there isn't a lot of information out there for patients to even hear more about the other procedures offered. Plus, the sleeve is such a low-maintenance procedure (no fills, unfills, follow up appointments, long term complications). Unlike the band that is a big money maker for some surgeons.

That's my only 2 guesses.

There are a lot of public blogs out there found through google search, and tons of youtube.com videos available as well. But, no one would know to look for those really unless they had already "heard" about the VSG.

I wish they could figure out a way to more information out to the public about all of their surgical choices.