Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What else will change??

I'm a 22 year old female and I've been considering WLS for about 8 months. I went through a lot of the initial consultations and then I decided to "give it another shot on my own" - I think mainly I was scared.

My mum has had a Lapband for approximately the last 10 years so I can ask her a lot of my questions however I'm hoping everyone on here could tell me a bit more - the things they don't tell you, will it effect my general life in any way you can think of that you wish you had been told ? Can you no longer lie down after eating? I don't know I can't think of any examples, but please share anything that you think might be of interest!

I'm trying to prepare myself for everything so when I go back I can commit :)

Thank you!

I was banded 7/15 and so far have no regrets. I think the only "surprise" I had was the fact that I was so hungry after surgery. This didn't kick in until about about 3 days post op. I was expecting to really not be hungry at all, boy was I wrong. I managed it with creamy Soups and Protein Shakes but that was a rough week to get through. Other than that it has been much easier than I expected. Post op pain was not bad at all, and adjusting my eating has really not been that bad. Good luck on your journey and remember most times your fears are much worse than the reality.

I was banded 7/15 and so far have no regrets. I think the only "surprise" I had was the fact that I was so hungry after surgery. This didn't kick in until about about 3 days post op. I was expecting to really not be hungry at all' date=' boy was I wrong. I managed it with creamy Soups and Protein shakes but that was a rough week to get through. Other than that it has been much easier than I expected. Post op pain was not bad at all, and adjusting my eating has really not been that bad. Good luck on your journey and remember most times your fears are much worse than the reality.[/quote']