Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Men - don't read, it's about my period :)

Ok, so ever since I got banded my periods have been off schedule. I didn't have one for 3 1/2 months, then I bled for a weel, then like 2 weeks later I bled for like 3 weeks, then another month went by and not I'm having a period that seems to be on schedule (as in it's occuring one month from the last one) but all these periods have been SO SO SO heavy and SO much longer than pre-band (pre-band I was average flow for 4 days). So, what is going on? Is there still build-up from when I missed a few periods? I'm so tired of it! I've had this period for 5 days now and it is so heavy that it is waking me up in the middle of the night.

Also, while I'm bitching and moaning, I haven't lost any weight in like 4-5 weeks. Just thought I'd throw a complaint in there too!

I am no expert, but it really does not sound like something caused by the band, even though you have only noticed it after getting the band. Maybe some kind of hormone shift relating to the operation/ weight loss brought whatever this is on. It does sound sort of like the onset of menopause, but there are other things for sure that cause irregular periods. Have you scheduled an appt with a OBGYN?

Treat this like you would if you did not have the band. We just talked about this on another thread. Your peroids should have nothing to do with your band.

We were wondering if every time something goes wrong now or hurts if we will blame the band.

My advice is to call your genocologist.

Wishing you great health and steady weight loss.

I have read alot of accounts on here of women's periods being affected by the band. Most say they skip several months after surgery and then bleed heavily. If you do a search you should find some relevant threads. I would say, though, that if it doesn't clear up in the next month, to call your gyn.