Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

BMI 32 lookng for inexpensive surgeon

Hi all!!!

Please help...

Does anyone know of the best and least expensive doctor in any country (less than $8000.) I am new to LBT and have a low BMI of 30-32. I have been considering surgery for about a year but found that that my BMI was too low for surgery in the US because I don't have other complications. I read that many surgeons in Mexico will treat low BMI patients with prices from $8000-$12000. If any one can suggest the best doctor for low bmi and low cost for cash patients. I know about the added cost for follow up care or air fair. I feel a little hopeless with the BMI and financial restrictions so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

I went to Dr. Huacuz in TJ-Mexico. I don't know what his rates are now, but this is what I paid back in August 2005....

$100.00 deposit to hold my Inamed band and surgery date.

$6700.00 the day of the surgery which included hospital stay for one night and hotel stay for 2 nights (I opted to stay at the hotel only one night and had them take me to San Diego to stay the second night) for me and a companion which was my mom.

I think my airfare was like $300.00 round trip at the time, and I didn't have to buy any food!!

Of course my fill with the US doctor was $355.00, so make sure what you can afford to pay for the after care. I have only had one fill so far, only due to the distance I have to travel to get there. I didn't realize how hard it was going to be to find the time to go, it is around a 5 hour drive one way. Anyway, this was what I paid and I LOVED Dr. Huacuz. He is awesome.

Good luck with your decision!!!

Mexico or another country is probably your only option with that low of a BMI. How can you have a BMI or 30-32... there is about 30 lbs difference between the two numbers.