Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Ok...I lurked a bit...so I guess I should introduce myself...a newbie

Hi I am a newbie....and seriously interested in doing the procedure at the Cleveland Clinic with Dr Schauer.

I went to two seminars and I have a one on one with the Dr on Feb 13th.

I have been suffering from sleep apnea and it's related sx's for about 5 yrs now with an upsized fibromyalgia and cronic fatigue. My husband is a professional and extremely driven along with 5 kids (3 in college and equally high achievers)....I am entering such poor self esteem as I can't seem to get enough things done and take the steps needed to take care of myself. I have served my family tirelessly for 23yrs at the cost of my own health. Now I want to to the steps needed to regain ME. My hubby is strongly against the banding proceedure....as he says "you just need to close your mouth"....well I have been yo-yo-ing for yrs and suffered a nasty spiral fracture that cause a 9 month non wieght bearing situation with crutches only....so that really helped my wieght soar....now at 229 my highest ever at 5'7'' (45yrs old)......

My entire family uses FAT jokes around me on a minute to minute basis in the hopes of curing my situation....NOT....I just feel like a failure amongst such talented....active people. I spend an awful lot of emphasis on feeding them and having great meals always available....which no one wants to give up....they MUST have Mom's cooking! But that makes it very challanging for me always constantly preparing meals. Hubby is dominating and wants the traditional wife type....so I am not expecting anything to change...I have to work around my environment. My older boys are all into sports and really eat a lot...but are in great shape. Alas, I am here....hoping for some support or inspiration.....or just anything.

On my own....and getting fatter....