Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Low Carb or No Carb? - Still Very New To This and Could Use Some Help!

Hi everyone!

I am so thankful for this site and the many people on here who share their experiences. I was banded on 3/1/11 and am actually going in for my first fill this Friday (4/15/11). I lost approximately 15 pounds since the day I went in for surgery and I had a relatively easy post-op with no complications and now that I have healed, I am pretty much having no issues with eating ANYTHING or any stuck episodes (at least not yet). Due to this, I have been pretty much practicing the High Protein - NO Carb (as in no simple carbs, no Pasta, no rice, no potatoes, no bread) primarily because I am very much a carb addict (I looooove potatoes and bread and can eat them all day long). However, here is my problem, since I am completely new to this lifestyle and have been reading all of the posts on here and it seems as though everyone on here has incorporated SOME carbs into their diet without experiencing the weight gain that I am fearing will happen once I indulge even just a little bit. I am not a person who likes to cook and am slowly trying to overcome this obstacle. I think my main problem is I am quite confused on what to eat/make that would be satisfying but yet healthy and would still garner the intake i need to maintain weight loss with the band. I was hoping someone could possibly shed some light on the following for me:

1) what simple carbs can I incorporate into my diet and how much to still stay in ketosis (please keep in mind I cut all the "white" out of my diet previous to the LB surgery - white bread, rice pasta, etc.)

2) any good food ideas especially eating out that you can suggest?

Any help would be greatly appreciated..

3)