Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Newbie here...wondering is it really worth it?

After reading many posts, I'm realizing more and more that success with the lapband is mainly dependent on behaviour changes. I know that the lapband is not a magic bullet, but I guess I'm just wondering if there's another nonsurgical tool for appetite control I could use if I'm having to make such drastic changes on my own anyway.:lol:

I hope I don't get pounced on for this...lol. I just see how many drastic changes that we have to make for ourselves, and frankly I'm not sure if I have the willpower. Would appreciate some responses about what made you decide that this was the best tool for you, and how you have been able to cope with all of the major changes.

I had my surgery 2 1/2 months ago and can tell you that my ATTITUDE towards certain foods that I used to LOVE has changed due to not being able to tolerate them anymore physically. No one told me that I would be saying goodbye to bread, but I have. It makes me sick to eat it now. I've since learned that most people cannot eat bread after the surgery. When I see a panini/sandwich or pizza, instead of thinking, "YUM!", I think, "That would make me so sick!" I have honestly lost my desire to eat some of the bad stuff, so willpower is not even an issue anymore.

After reading many posts, I'm realizing more and more that success with the lapband is mainly dependent on behaviour changes. I know that the lapband is not a magic bullet, but I guess I'm just wondering if there's another nonsurgical tool for appetite control I could use if I'm having to make such drastic changes on my own anyway.:lol: