Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I'm supposed to talk about my feelings

Hi everyone. I went to a session with my counselor today and I had kind of a breakthrough in why I've gotten so obese. I never talk about my feelings with people. I like to talk about other people's feelings and what's going on in their lives, but I'm not very good at talking about myself. Apparently I'm afraid of being vunerable. Kind of a no-duh assessment, but for some reason it really hit home with all of this band stuff.

I'm still pretty new to all of this, and even the idea of having the band has brought up so many new feelings and emotions than I ever thought I would have. I hope you don't mind if I share a few...it is one of my assignments for the next two weeks :-)

1. Holy crap, I'm so fat I need surgery? When did that happen? I'm fine, really. Really, I am. Ok, no I'm not.

2. I'm going to miss food a lot. I'm pretty sure that a new body shape will feel a lot better than eating food, but who really knows.

3. What does it feel like to shop in regular stores? How does one deal with all the options? I'm used to jeans in either classic or relaxed fit...not jeans, slacks, trousers, boot cut, low cut...

4. What happens when I get naked with a guy for the first time with my new body? Will I know how to use it? :-)

5. Will I tick people off if I'm not the fat one anymore? What if I get thinner than my size 16 sister? Will she kill me in my sleep?

6. Can I eat potato salad? I love potato salad. That's right...potato salad got me here in the first place.

7. Will I have to get new shoes? Sometimes people's feet size change.

8. What if I'm prettier fat than thin?

9. What if it doesn't work and I'm a failure at this as I was with every other diet?

10. What if it works?

Sorry it's so long...thanks for listening. It felt good to talk about these things and I'd love to hear what other people are scared about...pre op, post op, in op...whatever :-)

Megan