Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Pain along right side of rib cage?

I've been experiencing pain off and on, and it seems to be primarily located right around my rib cage, under my right breast. Anyone know what that might be?

Hehe.

Can you relate it to anything else? E.g. sharp stabbing pain with deep breaths? Notice any differences in pain after certain types of meals - particularly much later in the same evening? Etc.

Enter standard disclaimer than I'm not a medical professional. :mad:

Hehe.

Can you relate it to anything else? E.g. sharp stabbing pain with deep breaths? Notice any differences in pain after certain types of meals - particularly much later in the same evening? Etc.

Enter standard disclaimer than I'm not a medical professional. :mad:

It's kind of throbbing/stabbing/sharp ache pain, if that makes any sense. I haven't really paid much attention to what I was eating before it's happened, so I can't say with any certainty that I was eating a particular type of food before the attacks. If I had to guess, though, I'd say higher fat meals than I usually eat. I think the last attack was after I'd eaten beef tips sauteed with rice, onion, and cheese and a really cheesy broccoli casserole thingy from a restaurant. It's not a constant thing, though. I'll go days with no problems and then it'll start hurting off and on for a couple days.

If it flares up after you eat, and especially after you eat higher fat meals, that screams gallbladder to me. Evidently losing weight (any way you do it) is tough on the little thing. I'd get it checked out.

If it flares up after you eat, and especially after you eat higher fat meals, that screams gallbladder to me. Evidently losing weight (any way you do it) is tough on the little thing. I'd get it checked out.
That's what I was worried about. If it gives me any more problems, I'll definitely give my surgeon a call.