Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi everyone- I'm new to BariatricPal. I had RNY Gastric Bypass in June 2008. Met goal weight of 118 lbs. by August 2009. Had my son in September 2011 so I gained 30 lbs. which I subsequently lost within 6 months of his birth. I am now approaching my 12 year surgiversary and I have crept up to 180 lbs. I am so mortified and disappointed in myself; and I understand it is also due to the lack of fullness after so long. I am going back to my original surgeon to discuss revision options.

My question is, I have NJ Family Care / Horizon BCBS of NJ and there isn't much online as to whether they typically cover weight loss surgery revisions. I am so nervous because my insurance barely wanted to cover a root canal and this is obviously much more invasive. The other problem I have is chronic pain, as I had back surgery in 2013 following a car accident. The added weight has worsened all of my issues and I am dealing with horrible sciatica with the weight gain. I just wish I felt full.

I do not drink, smoke, or do illicit drugs. I just would like to know if based on my circumstances if I can be approved by Medicaid for the revision.

Thanks for reading and for any advice.

I am sorry you are having all these difficulties. I would imagine your BMI would be too low for approval but I am not an insurance person or a Dr.

You may not get the fullness you are looking for in a 2nd surgery. If you have not read what is being said you may want to go check out some of the revision threads out there.

Have you tried the 5 day reset ? Its suppose to help shrink your pouch back somewhat and get you back on track like a pre op.

At 10+ years post op I'm also battling ups and downs. My story is different from yours but the bottom line is getting rid of the excess weight.