Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

BJJ & Weight Training before & after Gastric Sleeve?

Hi All,

I am 40 years old and I have been practicing BJJ and Mua Thai for about 3 years. My weight has always fluctuated up and down but lately its gotten the best of me and I've noticed that it's hindering not only my overall health (cholesterol, pre-diabetes, enlarged liver etc. etc) but my BJJ game has also been affected. I hit the weight hard and also dedicate time for cardio and spend about 3x's on the mat. I've noticed for as much as I work out the added weight just slows me down and I am not able to hit my move the way I would like thus my BJJ has stagnated and I am just not loosing weight. I am looking getting the gastric sleeve surgery but I am afraid that all the hard work I invested in the gym and on the mat is going to set me back with my BJJ game and strength.

I know I am not supposed to work out post-op but can I get away with doing very light weight at least 4 weeks out as long as I am not straining?

Is there a certain way I should be working out or drilling so I don't loose too much muscle or technique on the mats?

How soon do you think it's safe enough to drill?

What about yoga post-op to get core strong?

What about eating? Although I want to loose weight I don't want to turn into a toothpick. What is the best way to retain hard earned muscle?

Can anyone share their experience?

Thanks

@@eastharlempana

Welcome!! I'm pre op so I can't really talk about my experience but there's a guys group on here that I recommend checking out. A lot of them are frequent gym goers and will have advice on muscle gain etc.