Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How Much Do/Did You Know About Nutrition?

Okay, we’re all here because we struggled with (or struggle with) food. Most of us have probably spent a good portion of our lives thinking about food. But how much did you know about nutrition before considering weight loss surgery? Did you know which foods are low-calorie, and which are likely to make you hungrier? Or were you clueless?

Now that you’ve started thinking about WLS or you’ve had it, how much would you say you know about nutrition? Do you feel like it is enough?

I don’t know a whole lot. I think it is “enough,” but I wouldn’t mind knowing a little more. I know how to recognize a lean Protein, and I know that vegetables and fruit are good, and I know that Portion Control is necessary. Beyond that, I’m not an expert on nutrients, so I just hope I’m getting a well-rounded diet.

I think fat people know a lot more about nutrition than people give us credit for. I knew all about carbs and fat and how horrible they are. I used to work in healthcare- and have seen firsthand the results of long term obesity has on the body. Most of us have all seen the food documentaries -super size me ..etc..I know it's bad, but food is so plentiful and delicious that it was hard to change. Portion size has been the key for me. I still can't believe how much people eat and think it's normal. I can't believe how huge kids meals are.

What has recently surprised me is how bad sugar is and just how unregulated the industry has become. Although every decade it's a new vice, we had it wrong so many times before- I remember the margarine is better than butter craze---it wasn't. There is a lot of trust issues when it comes to food science, I don't think they have figured it out yet.

I've been dieting since I was 18. I could write the book on proper nutrition. But knowing it and doing it are two different things.